Meet The Monitor’s 2024 All-Area Boys Soccer teams and superlative winners. The Monitor’s coverage area ranges from Mercedes to Roma. The awards and teams were put together with input from our sports staff, coaches and other officials.


The Monitor’s 2023-24 All-Area Superlatives

La Joya Juarez-Lincoln senior Omar Solis. (Joel Martinez | The Monitor)

Player of the Year: Omar Solis, La Joya Juarez-Lincoln


Progreso senior Joshua Perez. (Andrew Cordero | Special to RGVSports)

Small School Player of the Year: Joshua Perez, Progreso


PSJA North junior Jacob Ocañas. (Andrew Cordero | Special to RGVSports)

Offensive Player of the Year: Jacob Ocañas, PSJA North


Edinburg North senior Kenneth Reyes. (Andrew Cordero | Special to RGVSports)

Defensive Player of the Year: Kenneth Reyes, Edinburg North


Donna North senior Melvin Gomez. (Andrew Cordero | Special to RGVSports)

Utility Player of the Year: Melvin Gomez, Donna North


Edinburg North senior Adrian Alvarez. (Andrew Cordero | Special to RGVSports)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Adrian Alvarez, Edinburg North


Left to right, Sharyland Pioneer’s Hector Veliz and Progreso’s Hicker Segura. (Andrew Cordero | Special to RGVSports)

Co-Newcomers of the Year: Hicker Segura, Progreso; Hector Veliz, Sharyland Pioneer


Left to right, Progreso’s Damian Magallan and Edinburg North’s Elias Moran. (Andrew Cordero | Special to RGVSports)

Co-Coaches of the Year: Elias Moran, Edinburg North; Damian Magallan, Progreso


The Monitor’s 2023-24 All-Area First Team

Goalkeeper: Omar Garcia, PSJA Memorial

Defenders: Erick Gonzalez, Edinburg North; Jovanny Martinez, La Joya Juarez-Lincoln; Cesar Meza, Progreso

Midfielders: Juan Pablo Trevino, Sharyland High; Randy Galvan, Edinburg Economedes; Jared Arevalo, Sharyland Pioneer; Diego Macias, Progreso

Forwards: Enrique Torres, Donna North; Diego Pina, PSJA Memorial; Juan Nieto Donna High

Utility: Furkan Coban, Sharyland High

The Monitor’s 2023-24 All-Area Second Team

Goalkeeper: Edson Balderas, Donna North

Defenders: Santos Gonzalez, Sharyland Pioneer; Inaki Cruz, Sharyland High; Jonathan May-Nieves, Donna North

Midfielders: Bryan Garcia, Edinburg Economedes; Jony Macias, PSJA Memorial; Emiliano Villegas, Valley View; Alan Martinez, McAllen High

Forwards: Ian Cerecedo, Hidalgo; Julio Cardenas, PSJA Memorial; Sebastian Chapa, IDEA Edinburg Quest

Utility: Edgar Hernandez, La Joya Juarez-Lincoln

[email protected]