Candidates speak: Ruvalcaba, Villarreal in runoff for Brownsville commission seat

June 5 is the start of early voting for the June 17 runoff election between Susan Ruvalcaba and Tino Villarreal for the Brownsville City Commission At-Large “A” seat formerly held by John Cowen, now mayor of Brownsville.

The Texas Attorney General’s office raided the Starr County Elections Department

Investigators with the Texas Attorney General’s Office executed a search warrant on the Starr County Elections Department offices Friday.

Election day set in runoff for Mercedes commissioner seat

The date has been set in the runoff between incumbent Mercedes Place 3 Commissioner Joe Martinez and Leonel Benavidez, who is looking to reprise his position on the governing body.

San Benito installs new school board; trustees pledge to unite panel

SAN BENITO — After three years of deep division within San Benito's school board, the district is seating a new board of trustees, whose members are pledging to work together to boost students' academic success.

McAllen school board swears in new president following May election

Debbie Crane Aliseda will be the McAllen school board’s next president after trustees were sworn in and the board was reorganized Wednesday.

Garcia sworn-in as new mayor of Combes

Silvestre Garcia was sworn-in as the mayor of Combes by Juan A. Magallanes, State District Judge of the 357th Court, on Tuesday.

Brownsville’s newly elected mayor, commissioners take oath of office

BROWNSVILLE — Three officials here have officially been sworn into office.

Michelle Vallejo announces 2024 run for District 15 congressional seat

Michelle Vallejo, the Democratic candidate whose 2022 congressional campaign garnered support from progressive powerhouses like U.S. Sen. Bernie Sanders, I-Vermont, and former President Bill Clinton, is making another run for Texas’ 15th congressional district.

Cerda, Sullivan win tight Sharyland ISD board races

Sharyland school board candidates Julio Cerda and Meagan Sullivan came out on top in competitive races Saturday.

Mercedes mayor reelected, Place 3 commissioner race headed to runoff

Voters in Mercedes sent a clear message on Election Day in reelecting Mayor Oscar Montoya to his second term in office while fending off two challengers — including a former commissioner.