Alex Meade confirmed for Texas Transportation Commission appointment

Only have a minute? Listen instead
Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...
Alejandro “Alex” G. Meade III

Texas Regional Bank Executive Vice President Alex Meade’s appointment to the state transportation board was approved this week, according to state Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa.

Meade, a Brownsville native who resides in Mission, previously served as the Mission Economic Development Corporation director and Pharr city manager, and on the Texas Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors.

Hinojosa, who introduced Meade during the Senate Confirmation hearing, congratulated Meade Wednesday after it was announced that he has officially been confirmed by the Texas Senate to serve on the Texas Transportation Commission.

“I have no doubt that he has the experience from the public and private sectors that have prepared him for this position. I wish Commissioner Meade much success as he begins his important role overseeing the Texas Department of Transportation and our highway system across the state,” Hinojosa said in a news release.

The commission oversees policies and the construction and maintenance of state highways, and is responsible for the design and operation of the state highway system, according to the Texas Department of Transportation.

Among their responsibilities, TxDOT says, is developing a statewide transportation plan and awarding contracts for improvements, and the overall development of public transportation in Texas.

Gov. Greg Abbott appointed Meade to the committee on March 21, where he will now serve as one of five commissioners.

Throughout his term, Meade and other commissioners will be responsible for policymaking in regard to the state’s highway systems.

They will also be helping with the development of both statewide transportation plans and assisting with the development of public transportation as well as adopting rules for the Texas Department of Transportation’s operations.

Meade will serve as a commissioner until Feb. 1, 2025.