Former Pharr city manager appointed to Texas Transportation Commission

Alejandro “Alex” G. Meade III

A local figure has been tapped to oversee the transportation policy for the state.

Gov. Greg Abbott appointed former Pharr City Manager Alex Meade to the Texas Transportation Commission for a term that will expire on Feb. 1, 2025, pending confirmation by the Texas Senate.

Meade, the executive vice president of Texas Regional Bank and former CEO of the Mission Economic Development Corporation, will serve as one of five commissioners responsible for overseeing the Texas Department of Transportation.

He will also be responsible for policymaking regarding the state’s highway system, developing a statewide transportation plan, assisting the development of public transportation and for adopting rules for TxDOT, according to a news release issued by Abbott’s office.

State Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa praised Abbott’s selection of Meade to serve on the commission, calling it an “excellent choice,” in his own news release.

Hinojosa said Meade’s roles with the Mission EDC, the city of Pharr and Texas Regional Bank equipped him with the necessary public and private sector experience to serve on the transportation commission.

“He understands how critical transportation infrastructure is to our cities, our businesses, and for our state’s continued success and economic growth,” Hinojosa stated. “Alex has first-hand knowledge of the importance of the Texas-Mexico border and the benefits of the trade with Mexico through our international ports of entry.”

Hinojosa, who represents Meade’s hometown of Mission, will be introducing Meade during the senate confirmation hearing and will help secure the votes needed from the other state senators to confirm his appointment to the commission.

“I am confident Alex will work tirelessly to provide transportation solutions that will take care of the needs of all Texans,” Hinojosa added. “I look forward to supporting him through the Senate confirmation process.”

The last time the transportation commission included someone from the Rio Grande Valley was in the 1990s when Ruben R. Cardenas of McAllen served from May 1994 to April 1995, according to Hinojosa’s office.

The last transportation commissioner from the border region was Ted Houghton of El Paso. He served from February 2009 to February 2015.