EDITOR’S NOTE: With cross country now in the postseason, there will be no more athletes of the week for the sport this season.

Meet the RGVSports.com Athletes of the Week. Athletes are voted on by the RGVSports.com sports staff with input from coaches and organizations in each respective sport. RGVSports.com’s coverage ranges from Brownsville to Roma. Please send your nominees to [email protected] by 2 p.m. Monday for consideration.


San Benito running back Fabian Garcia (4) is this week’s RGVSports.com Football Player of the Week. (Andrew Cordero | Special to RGVSports.com)

Fabian Garcia, senior, RB, San Benito: Garcia ran wild against bitter rival Harlingen High, carrying the ball 32 times for 274 yards and two touchdowns en route to this week’s RGVSports.com Football Player of the Week honors.

The senior bell cow scored back-to-back second-half touchdowns to help the Greyhounds erase a 10-0 deficit and snatch their first Battle of the Arroyo victory since 2018. His 274 rushing yards accounted for more than 75% of San Benito’s total yards.

Garcia eclipsed the 1,000-rushing yard mark for the third time in his career following his performance against the Cardinals. He is sitting at 1,179 yards and 16 touchdowns on 108 carries with two games remaining.


Sharyland High’s Kenisha Martinez (8) is this week’s RGVSports.com Volleyball Player of the Week. (Joel Martinez | [email protected])

Kenisha Martinez, junior, OH, Sharyland High: Martinez averaged 17.5 kills in a sweep over PSJA North and a five-set victory over McAllen High to earn the RGVSports.com volleyball player of the week. Martinez, a junior outside for the Rattlers, came up huge in McHi’s upset bid, tallying 21 kills, one ace and one block. The Rattlers clinched the District 31-5A title with that win and improved to 42-1 with one match remaining, against second-place and crosstown rival Sharyland Pioneer at 7 p.m. Tuesday at Sharyland High.

Sharyland’s 41-match winning streak is the longest active winning streak in the state. Martinez is the first two-time recipient of the award this season.

[email protected]