Committee assignments announced for RGV state senators

The Texas State Capitol is seen in this undated photo. (Courtesy: Texas State Capitol/Facebook)

The Texas Senate committee assignments for the 88th Legislative Session have been announced.

Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick announced the assignments Monday morning in a news release, and the Rio Grande Valley’s three state senators will have significant roles to play.

Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa, D-McAllen, will serve as vice chair on the Senate Committee on Finance. Patrick also assigned Hinojosa to the Senate Committee on Border Security, the Senate Committee on Criminal Justice and the Senate Committee on Jurisprudence.

Hinojosa will also serve as vice chair of the Senate Special Committee on Redistricting after being appointed by Patrick earlier in the legislative session.

“With my committee assignments this session, I am committed to working with my colleagues to bring forth practical solutions that will further strengthen our economy, ensure increased access to affordable health care for our most vulnerable, support public education funding for our students and teachers, and keep our communities safe,” Hinojosa said in a news release Monday. “Above all, I will work to make Texas a better place to live and raise our families.”

Sen. Morgan LaMantia, D-Brownsville, was assigned to the Senate Committee on Education, the Senate Committee on Health and Human Services, the Senate Committee on Nominations and the Senate Committee on State Affairs.

As of press time, LaMantia hadn’t yet issued a news release on her committee assignments or made a statement on her official Facebook page.

Sen. Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo, whose district includes Starr County, was assigned to the Senate Committee on Business and Commerce, the Senate Committee on Finance, the Senate Committee on State Affairs and the Senate Special Committee on Redistricting.

Zaffirini was also assigned to the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Economic Development, for which she will serve as vice chair.

“Thanks to Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick for the great senate committee assignments,” Zaffrini said in a Facebook post Monday. “These are fabulous committees that handle issues important to our district — especially Finance.”

To find a comprehensive list of bills filed — and the status of those bills — visit and click the 88th Texas Legislative Session tab, which has an interactive spreadsheet and a comprehensive list of AIM Media Texas’ legislative coverage.