Tuesday last day to vote early in May elections for Hidalgo County entities

Tuesday is the last day for early voting before the 2022 Constitutional Amendments and Local Entities Elections on Saturday.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.

There are over 30 polling locations available for Hidalgo County residents to cast their votes. Those locations can be found at the Hidalgo County Elections website.

The cities of Elsa, Mercedes, Mission, Palmhurst, Palmview, and Progreso have races on the ballot, as well as Mission CISD, Sharyland ISD, South Texas College, and Engelman Irrigation District.

Edcouch-Elsa ISD also has Proposition A on the ballot, which calls for a $26 million bond. Voters will vote for or against the funds that are intended to construct, acquire and equip school buildings, purchase new school buses, and levy enough taxes to pay the bond.

Greg Rodriguez, the district’s superintendent, said the measure would not raise property taxes, despite the proposition’s language, which states “this is a tax increase.”

“Propositions are mandated to state” that, he told The Monitor in an email Tuesday morning.

A total of 13,500 ballots have been cast after seven days of early voting in Hidalgo County, including 11,428 in-person ballots and 2,072 mail-in ballots.

Below is a breakdown of each race:

City of Mission

Mayoral candidates

>> Victor Anzaldua

>> Norberto “Beto” Salinas

>> Armando O’Cana

>> Norie Gonzalez Garza

Council Place 1

>> Jessica Ortega Ochoa

>> Noel Salinas

>> Moises “Moy” Iglesias

Council Place 3

>> Abiel Flores

>> Javier “Javy” Ramon

>> Joe Vargas

City of Palmview


>> Pamela Flores

>> Rick Villarreal

>> Linda Sarabia

Council Place 2

>> Miriam Saenz

>> Jose Luis “JL” Perez

Council Place 4

>> Benito Hernandez

>> Arlando Nacianceno

City of Palmhurst


>> Ramiro J. Rodriguez Jr. (deceased)

>> Israel Silva

Council Place 3

>> Robert A. Salinas

>> Carlton Martin

Council Place 4

>> Hugo H. Gutierrez

>> Mary Ann Gonzalez

City of Mercedes

Commissioner Place 2

>> Armando Garcia

>> Leonel Benavidez

Commissioner Place 4

>> Ruben J. Saldana

>> Jose Gomez

>> Jovana Trevino-Garcia

City of Elsa


>> Alonzo “Al” Perez

>> Zeke Avila

>> Mingo Rodriguez

Councilman Place 1

>> Carlos “Cory” Sanchez

>> Melissa Salinas

>> Jose Pepe Martinez

City of Progreso Lakes


>> Harold Seiver

>> Casey J. Cavazos


>> Wyman Birdwell

>> David Martin

South Texas College Board of Trustees District 3

>> Paul R. Rodriguez

>> Prisciliano “J.R.” Trevino

>> Lorena Saucedo Singh

South Texas College Board of Trustees District 4

>> Michael Fallek

>> Dalinda Gonzalez-Alcantar

>> Ronnie Ontiveros

Mission Consolidated Independent School District

School trustee Place 1

>> Veronica “Betty” R. Mendoza

>> Amanda Salinas O’Cana

School Trustee Place 6

>> Dolores “Loli” Reyna

>> Petra B. Ramirez

School trustee Place 7

>> J.C. Avila

>> Minnie R. Rodgers

Sharyland Independent School District

School trustee Place 5

>> Hector M. Rivera

>> Rene Morales

School trustee Place 6

>> Noe Oliveira

School trustee Place 7

>> David Keith

Editor’s note: This story was updated to correct information about the Edcouch-Elsa school district bond and to include comments from the superintendent.