Pharr fire chief reappointed to state board

Pilar Rodriguez

Gov. Greg Abbott this week announced the reappointment of an Edinburg native to the board that oversees a retirement fund for volunteer firefighters and emergency personnel in Texas.

Abbott appointed Pilar Rodriguez to the Texas Emergency Services Retirement System Board of Trustees.

Rodriguez currently serves as the Executive Director of the Hidalgo County Regional Mobility Authority, as well as the Fire Chief for the Pharr Fire Department.

Rodriguez is also a member of the Linn San Manuel Volunteer Fire Department, Texas Public Works Association, the State of Texas Firefighters, and the Fire Marshal Association of Texas.

In addition to those ventures, he volunteers as a structure specialist for the Texas A&M Task Force 1 Urban Search and Rescue, is a strike team leader for the Texas Public Works Response Team, and a trustee for the Pharr Volunteer Fire Department Local Pension Board.

He is a licensed professional engineer and received a bachelor of science in civil engineering from Texas A&M University, Kingsville.

Rodriguez was first appointed to the Texas Emergency Services Retirement System Board of Trustees in 2016. His reappointment was announced earlier this week along with the appointment of Brian Smith of Austin. Both of their terms are set to expire Sep. 1, 2027.