Early voting for several cities and school districts begins Monday.

City elections include races in the cities of Mission, Palmview, Palmhurst, Elsa and Progreso Lakes while school district races include Mission, Sharyland and the board of trustees for South Texas College.

The Edcouch-Elsa school district also has a $26 million bond proposition on the ballot that would be used to bolster district facilities and assets.

The early voting period for the May 7 election runs through May 3.

Residents with any questions about early voting should call the Hidalgo County Elections Department at (956) 318-2570.

Here’s a breakdown of the races:

City of Mission

Mayoral candidates

>> Victor Anzaldua

>> Norberto “Beto” Salinas

>> Armando O’Cana

>> Norie Gonzalez Garza

Council Place 1

>> Jessica Ortega Ochoa

>> Noel Salinas

>> Moises “Moy” Iglesias

Council Place 3

>> Abiel Flores

>> Javier “Javy” Ramon

>> Joe Vargas

City of Palmview


>> Pamela Flores

>> Rick Villarreal

>> Linda Sarabia

Council Place 2

>> Miriam Saenz

>> Jose Luis “JL” Perez

Council Place 4

>> Benito Hernandez

>> Arlando Nacianceno

City of Palmhurst


>> Ramiro J. Rodriguez Jr. (deceased)

>> Israel Silva

Council Place 3

>> Robert A. Salinas

>> Carlton Martin

Council Place 4

>> Hugo H. Gutierrez

>> Mary Ann Gonzalez

City of Mercedes

Commissioner Place 2

>> Armando Garcia

>> Leonel Benavidez

Commissioner Place 4

>> Ruben J. Saldana

>> Jose Gomez

>> Jovana Trevino-Garcia

City of Elsa


>> Alonzo “Al” Perez

>> Zeke Avila

>> Mingo Rodriguez

Councilman Place 1

>> Carlos “Cory” Sanchez

>> Melissa Salinas

>> Jose Pepe Martinez

City of Progreso Lakes


>> Harold Seiver

>> Casey J. Cavazos


>> Wyman Birdwell

>> David Martin

Proposition A, Edcouch Elsa Independent School District

>> For or against the issuance of $26 million in bonds for the construction, acquisition and equipment of school buildings in the district, the purchase of necessary of the necessary sites for school buildings, the purchase of new school buses, and the levying and imposition of taxes sufficient to pay the principal of and interest on the bonds and the costs of any credit agreements. This would be property tax increase.

South Texas College Board of Trustees District 3

>> Paul R. Rodriguez

>> Prisciliano “J.R.” Trevino

>> Amanda Salinas O’Cana

South Texas College Board of Trustees District 4

>> Michael Fallek

>> Dalinda Gonzalez-Alcantar

>> Ronnie Ontiveros

Mission Consolidated Independent School District

School trustee Place 1

>> Veronica “Betty” R. Mendoza

>> Amanda Salinas O’Cana

School Trustee Place 6

>> Dolores “Loli” Reyna

>> Petra B. Ramirez

School trustee Place 7

>> J.C. Avila

>> Minnie R. Rodgers

Sharyland Independent School District

School trustee Place 5

>> Hector M. Rivera

>> Rene Morales

School trustee Place 6

>> Noe Oliveira

School trustee Place 7

>> David Keith

>> Irene Becerra Thompson

>> Leonor Garcia