USDA names Valley counties primary natural disaster areas

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated six Texas counties as primary natural disaster areas.

Producers who suffered losses due to recent natural disasters may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Hurricane Hannah, Excessive Rain, Wind and Flooding

Producers in Cameron, Hidalgo and Willacy counties who suffered losses due to Hurricane Hannah, excessive rain, wind and flooding that occurred July 25 through July 30, 2020, may be eligible for emergency loans.

Producers in Brooks, Kenedy and Starr are also eligible to apply for emergency loans.